Kansas City DWI Laws DWI is a serious crime in the United States. The penalties for drunk driving vary depending on the state and the circumstances of your arrest, but they can include jail time, fines, probation, community service, license suspension or revocation, vehicle impoundment or immobilization and ignition interlock device installation. Kansas City DWI lawyers can help you determine whether you might be eligible for an expungement of your criminal record if you are convicted of a DUI. They can also assist with obtaining an occupational driver’s license (OIL) that will allow you to drive to work while your regular license is suspended or revoked.
What is a DWI?
DWI is an acronym for Driving While Intoxicated. When someone is charged with DWI, they are typically charged with driving while intoxicated and may also be charged with any other applicable charges such as operating a motor vehicle without insurance or license, reckless driving, or even assault on law enforcement if the officer was assaulted during the arrest. In most states, DWI is considered a misdemeanor charge punishable by fines and jail time. In some states such as Texas and Virginia, it can be classified as a felony offense that carries greater penalties such as incarceration in state prison. If you have been arrested for DWI in Kansas City, we recommend contacting an attorney to discuss your case and possible defenses against the charge of DUI.
What are the penalties for a DWI in Kansas City?
What are the penalties for a DWI in Kansas City? In Kansas City, if convicted of a first time offense, there is a maximum sentence of one year in jail and up to $1,000 in fines. The penalties increase with each subsequent conviction as follows: 2nd offense – 1-3 years imprisonment and up to $5,000 fine; 3rd offense – 2-7 years imprisonment and up to $10,000 fine; 4th or more offenses – 5-15 years imprisonment and up to $25,000 fine. If you have been charged with driving under the influence (DUI), it is important that you consult an experienced DUI lawyer who will be able to advise you on your best options
What are the consequences of driving while intoxicated in Kansas City?
What are the consequences of driving while intoxicated in Kansas City? The state of Missouri has a number of penalties for people who are found guilty of driving while intoxicated. The penalties vary depending on how many times you have been convicted, and whether there was an accident involved. For instance, if you are caught with a BAC of 0.15% or higher, your license will be suspended for up to six months. If there is an accident involved, then the license will be suspended for one year. Furthermore, if you refuse to take a breathalyzer test when asked by law enforcement officers, your license will be suspended for six months.
Kansas City DWI Laws
Kansas City DWI Laws A DWI is a driving while intoxicated offense. There are many versions of this law in the United States, some states consider it a misdemeanor and others consider it a felony. A DWI is defined by any one of the following: -Driving while intoxicated -Operating or being in actual physical control of a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol -Driving with an unlawful blood alcohol concentration (BAC) -Failing to provide proof of having consumed enough alcohol to be considered impaired -Driving or operating an automobile when you have had more than your state’s legal limit for alcoholic beverages within about two hours before driving.